bible resources
Home    The Bible    Hymns    Church Directory    Bible Study Topics    Prayer Wall    About Us


Moses Deuteronomy  is the fifth book of the Hebrew Bible and of the Old Testament, and the fifth of five books of the Jewish Torah or Pentateuch.

A large part of the book is three sermons delivered by Moses reviewing the previous forty years of wandering in the wilderness and the future entering into the Promised Land. Its central element is a detailed law-code by which the Israelites are to live within the Promised Land.

Theologically the book constitutes the renewing of the covenant between Yahweh and the "Children of Israel."

One of its most significant verses is Deuteronomy 6:4, which constitutes the Shema, a definitive statement of Jewish identity: "Hear, O Israel: YHWH (is) our God, YHWH alone."

Conservative Bible scholars are united in their conviction that Moses wrote this book. Much of modern critical scholarship, while agreeing that Deuteronomy contains a core of material from ancient Mosaic traditions or writing, dates the book several centuries after Moses time, to the late 7th century BC. This latter view sees Deuteronomy as a product of the religious reforms carried out under king Josiah, with later additions from the period after the fall of Judah to the Babylonian empire in 586 BC.
View the Chapters Of Deuteronomy:
1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  

Copyright © 2009 - 2019 RSS RSS Feeds | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Terms of Service | Site Credits | Contact Us